The Marine and Coastal Access Act 2009 (MaCAA) introduced a new framework for managing the marine environment and providing greater access to it. This Act of Parliament replaced Sea Fisheries Committees with Inshore Fisheries and Conservation Authorities (IFCA’s) and is fundamental to the work of D&S IFCA.

The Devon and Severn IFCA is the largest of the ten separate IFCA districts and has two separate coastlines. The area of the District is 4522km² and is defined in the Statutory Instrument (2010 No. 2212). The D&S IFCA District includes the areas of Devon, Somerset, Gloucestershire County Councils; Bristol City and Plymouth City Councils; North Somerset and South Gloucestershire Councils and all adjacent waters out to six nautical miles offshore or the median line with Wales.

“D&S IFCA will lead, champion and manage a sustainable marine environment and inshore fisheries, by successfully securing the right balance between social, environmental and economic benefits to ensure healthy seas, sustainable fisheries and a viable industry”

The Full Authority is comprised of 30 members drawn from relevant Local Authorities (Councillors), General Members (appointed to the Authority by the Marine Management Organisation (MMO) and Statutory Appointees representing the MMO, the Environment Agency (EA) and Natural England (NE). D&S IFCA is funded via several different funding Authorities (councils) with an additional contribution from central government. Officers are employed by D&S IFCA to conduct work on behalf of the Full Authority. D&S IFCA has ten full time officers and one part-time office manager. The main office is situated in Brixham with one officer located in the Severn area of the District.

Devon and Severn IFCA Brixham Laboratory, Freshwater Quarry, Brixham TQ5 8BA

Social Media:

Facebook: (473)

Twitter: (3k)

follow Hartstongue on social media


Twitter  Facebook  YouTube  Instagram LinkedIn